We all have our little quirks, or "things," right? Some of us have to flip a light switch six times before we enter or leave a room. Others cannot have one thing out of place in the fridge before the door closes.

Mine is like this: Certain CDR cards, to me, are like Pringles. 

I can't tell you how many of his Exquisite RPAs /225 I have, but it's probably around 12. I have maybe seven (with one incoming) of his Exquisite Limited Logos /25. I only know I have six CDR 08-09 Bowman Chrome Gold Refractor Autos /25 because the sixth arrived over the weekend. And don't get me started on his 08-09 UD Black /50 and /15. 

If it's an on-card auto, I want multiples. If it's a patch and I have six of them already, I'll absolutely take a seventh, eighth, etc. If it's /50 or less, I'm probably going to bite.

And I can't, for the life of me, figure out why this is the case. I'm not going to flip them for a big profit - on occasion I've been known to help out other CDR or Memphis collectors, sometimes a set builder or two. But typically, once a CDR card hits my collection it's headed nowhere else. 

In the back of my mind, I think it would be awesome to acquire the entire print run of a card. I also know as cool as it would be, it's just as unlikely. But that doesn't stop me from trying. I have three of a /5 (two different), two of a /3, five of a /15, 15 or so of a /50. 

I know some people who only collect certain types of cards of their player. Or some who only want one of each printing plate, rather than hoping to get all four for the set. I can't process that - and those people probably have trouble processing my ravenous CDR collecting practices. 

I have to admit, it's pretty cool how varied the hobby can be, depending on the collector.



Leave a Reply.